Author Topic: Is the CX-5 right for me?  (Read 13489 times)

Offline Luton Driver

• I NEED TO UPDATE MY SIGNATURE!!!
  • Body: SUV
  • Colour: Arctic White
  • Engine: 2.2L 150ps
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model Grade: SE-L
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Year: 2015
Is the CX-5 right for me?
« on: February 10, 2015, 09:48:41 pm »
I am thinking about buying a new CX-5 once the new version is released with the DAB radio.  I only want the automatic version so it has to be a diesel but I only drive around 6000 miles a year.   The car will be doing around 3 journeys a week of under 5 miles with a couple of 15-20 mile trips every other weekend with maybe longer journeys once a month plus a couple of holidays away a year.

Will I be OK with this car as I know there were problems with diesel pumping into the sump due to regeneration issues when the car was launched.  Was that issue ever fixed and does anyone here have DPF issues?

I have been driving a Ford Mondeo diesel automatic since 2010 and have had no problems with the DPF.

Offline BigAl

• Colour: Eternal Blue
  • Engine: 2.0L 165ps
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model Grade: GT Sport
  • Year: 2021
Re: Is the CX-5 right for me?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 09:28:50 am »
As far as I know, the issue of un-burnt DPF fuel getting recycled back to the sump is not something that they intend to fix. It's just the way the system works. It is a known issue, but I've never met anyone who has had it happen. I'm doing 25k miles/year so its never likely to arise - I think I've only had the DPF regenerate a couple of times in 2 1/2 years (you can smell it when it happens).

I can see why you'd be considering the diesel to get the auto box, but I would think very hard about whether to go down the route of a diesel CX5 solely for that reason. You might be better waiting for the CX3 and see what options are available on that?

Alan

Offline Luton Driver

• Colour: Arctic White
  • Engine: 2.2L 150ps
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model Grade: SE-L