Author Topic: ADVICE needed - Looking to buy a 2015  (Read 6699 times)

Offline Sydney

• Body: SUV
  • Colour: Arctic White
  • Engine: 2.2L 150ps
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model Grade: Sport Nav
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Year: 2014
ADVICE needed - Looking to buy a 2015
« on: April 16, 2019, 09:43:06 am »
Hi all,

Im a newbie here so bear with me if i sound a bit naive when it comes to these cars. I have my eye on a 2014 CX-5 2.2L manual.  Mazdas are not common here in Ireland so had no idea of any issues.  No-one i know has ever had one so no real experience of how reliable they are. Everyone here buys Qashqais/Kias/Hyundais!  I dont want to be a sheep. :)

After doing a TONNE of research i see there were problems with some of the engines.  Can i get some advice on whether this car is for me?

Is the year of this car(2014) in the affected VIN year do you think or have the engines improved? From what I can see the affected engines are around the 2013 year?

These engines seem a bit high maintenance-so if i perform all the checks regularly will we make it through! ;D ie checking for rising oil etc. Using the proper oil/additives....regular oil changes.

I drive a mixture of motorway(about 1 to 3 hrs at weekend) but during the week more twisty hilly b roads(10-20km perhaps). I have read that this engine hates short trips??  Why is this engine different to say any other diesel engine in say a Tuscon or Sportage? This one seems to be a bit precious!! ;D

I test drove 2 last week but they were 2013 years. One was automatic AWD the other was manual. I love a punchy sporty car so right from the get go i loved the way the car drove. THis 2014 model is a much nicer spec (SPORT) but its about 2.5 hrs away.  Nothing else really drives as nicely as the CX-5 and i love its chunky boldness. So now Im torn. Do i bite the bullet and perhaps risk buying a heartbreak, or do i just do the sensible thing and buy a Qashqai???

I would love any advice you can give me(biting nails)