Author Topic: Prospective CX-5 owner, first-time with a Mazda too  (Read 57277 times)

Offline Hippogriff

• Body: SUV
  • Colour: Machine Gray
  • Engine: 2.2L 175ps
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model Grade: Sport Nav
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Year: 2019
Prospective CX-5 owner, first-time with a Mazda too
« on: July 14, 2015, 10:04:31 pm »
Good evening all,

I am almost about to press the button on a new CX-5. I have been an Audi A4 driver for the last 10 years or so, 3 cars over that time, but I've got a bad back nowadays and I've decided to go for something with a higher ride height that's easier to get in and out of and is also a car that isn't as harsh as the Audi S line range always is.

I looked at nearly everything out there, in the UK, with an open mind, from: Kia Sportage, Nissan Qashqai, Volvo XC60, Jeep Cherokee, Hyundai ix35, Range Rover Evoque, Land Rover Discovery Sport, Audi Q3 and Q5... cost isn't my major driver but - heck - if you're looking at an Evoque at £47,000 and a CX-5 at around £32,000 it seems a no-brainer for what you're getting, to me. I'd ideally have liked the CX-3 as it's a beautiful car, but it's too small for me and I can't get past the fact it's got this big 1990s style handbrake taking up loads of space. Odd design choice that.

Anyway, I had a few specific questions I've not been able to pin the dealer down fully on yet, I thought it would be useful for me to ask existing CX-5 owners.

The dealer says that there is no digital speedometer facility in the car and, true enough, I couldn't find one... but that seems weird. Is that truly the case, or can I press some button or twiddle some stalk so that I can see my speed digitally, rather than via a huge retro dial?